Unclaimed Property payments for month of May exceed $400,000
State has paid out more than $6.36 million so far this fiscal year
CHEYENNE – Wyoming’s Unclaimed Property Division of the State Treasurer’s Office issued 389 checks totaling $411,820 for the month of May.
“We have been actively seeking out some of the larger owners of unclaimed property,” Wyoming State Treasurer Curt Meier said. “Because of this effort, we expect the amount of money paid for this fiscal year ending June 30 to come close to or exceed the payments for any other fiscal year in our State’s history.”
For the fiscal year that will be ending June 30, Wyoming Unclaimed Property has already issued 4,863 checks with payments at nearly $6.36 million – easily surpassing the $5.125 million paid out for the 2019-2020 fiscal year and approaching the $6.857 million that was a State record in 2018-2019.
Property is turned over to the State when a business, agency or governmental entity owes property, typically money or stocks, to someone and for whatever reason cannot locate the owner for a specified time period.
Meier said the State is still holding more than $94 million in unclaimed property, and it is easier than ever for individuals to claim their money.
“We encourage all citizens to go to our website at mycash.wyo.gov and see if they are entitled to any of these funds,” Meier said. “There is a two-minute video on the left side of the page that explains how to make a claim through the website.”
To make a valid claim, owners will need to provide information about themselves and may need to submit official documents. This could be as simple as a copy of a driver’s license if the property is in your name, but if you are claiming as an heir or a business additional documents may be requested.
Wyoming law requires the State to hold unclaimed property in perpetuity until it is claimed.