REUNITING CITIZENS WITH THEIR LOST MONEY.
Are you interested in becoming an asset finder in the State of Wyoming? Please read through the following information to see if being an asset finder would be a mutually beneficial relationship for yourself and the Citizens of Wyoming:
Q: What is an asset finder?
A: An asset finder, also known as a third-party researcher, searches the database of unclaimed properties held by the State of Wyoming. The finder then attempts to locate the owner and if found, assists the owner with submitting a claim for their property.
Q: Do finders need to be registered with the State of Wyoming?
A: No, Wyoming law does not require finders be registered agents.
Q: Does Wyoming cap the fee finders can charge for their services?
A: No, Wyoming law does not set a limit on payment. However, Wyo. Stat. § 34-24-136 deems agreements to pay asset finders unenforceable if made within twenty-four (24) months after the date payment or delivery is made from the holder to the State of Wyoming. Moreover, agreements to pay asset finders after the twenty-four (24) month period must be in writing to be enforceable.
Q: Will the State of Wyoming work directly with the finder, or do they only communicate with owners?
A: The State will work with the finder if they submit a signed and notarized limited power of attorney agreement with the owner.
Q: What documents do I need to send to the State of Wyoming?
A: In addition to any normal documents needed as part of the claims process, a finder will need to provide a copy of the finder agreement made with each claimant as well as a copy of Wyoming’s Finder Information Form.
Q: Will Wyoming make payment to the finder or to the owner?
A: Checks will only be issued in the name of the owner(s) and sent to the owner(s).
Q: How can I obtain a list of properties?
A: Wyoming Unclaimed Property maintains two separate lists as contemplated by Wyo. Stat. § 34-24-119. The first identifies all properties valued at $50.00 or more. It is available for inspection in our office during regular business hours. The second is for properties more than 24 months old. That list is available as a searchable database accessible through Excel and can be purchased for $1,000.00.
Q: What type of information is provided on these lists?
A: The information may be limited based on what was provided to the State, but if available, the lists will include owner name(s), last known address, holder name, property type, report year and the property amount.
Q: How do I purchase this list?
A: Send a certified check, written out to Wyoming Treasurer’s Office, to:
Wyoming State Treasurer
Unclaimed Property Division
122 W. 25th St., STE E300
Cheyenne, WY 82002
Please include a letter indicating that you wish to purchase the asset finder list and where you would like for the encrypted DVD to be sent. Please plan on about 3-4 weeks for delivery.
Q: How often is the list updated, and will I need to purchase future lists?
A: The finder list of properties is updated in January and July each year. If you are wanting an updated list, you will need to purchase this and all future updated lists.
Q: What if I have additional questions?
A: Call our office at 307-777-5590.
February 1, 2024
January 26, 2024
January 12, 2024