Unclaimed Property payments for month of April exceed $875,000
State still holding more than $94 million for current and former Wyoming residents
CHEYENNE – Wyoming’s Unclaimed Property Division of the State Treasurer’s Office issued 392 checks totaling $875,439 for the month of April.
“We have been actively seeking out some of the larger owners of unclaimed property,” Wyoming State Treasurer Curt Meier said. “Because of this effort, we expect the amount of money paid for this fiscal year ending June 30 to exceed any other fiscal year in our State’s history.”
Among the payments made in April, three checks exceeded $100,000 while 10 additional checks were greater than $10,000 each.
Property is turned over to the State when a business, agency or governmental entity owes property, typically money or stocks, to someone and for whatever reason cannot locate the owner for a specified time period.
Meier said the State is still holding approximately $94.5 million in unclaimed property, and it is easier than ever for individuals to claim their money.
“We encourage all citizens to go to our website at mycash.wyo.gov and see if they are entitled to any of these funds,” Meier said. “There is a two-minute video on the left side of the page that explains how to make a claim through the website.”
To make a valid claim, owners will need to provide information about themselves and may need to submit official documents. This could be as simple as a copy of a driver’s license if the property is in your name, but if you are claiming as an heir or a business additional documents may be requested.
Wyoming law requires the State to hold unclaimed property in perpetuity until the rightful owner is able to claim it.