# **Reporting Checklist**

(Last Updated: 09/28/2023)

# Who must report

Any financial institution, business, government entity, organization or person that is holding unclaimed property belonging to Wyoming residents (Statutes 34-24-101 through 34-24-140) must report the properties to Wyoming's Unclaimed Property Division.

## What to report

All unclaimed property that has reached <u>its legal dormancy period</u> should be reported. All unclaimed property should be reported to the state of the owner's last known address.

Negative reports: Negative reports are not required.

Aggregate Reporting: Please include the names, last known addresses, amounts and all other account detail for all properties. Do not report in the aggregate unless it includes multiple properties for a single owner.

### When to report

Reports are due on or before November 1. Reports must be in the NAUPA format.

Due Diligence: Not more than 120 days before filing, the holder is required to send written notice to the apparent owner at that owner's last-known address informing the owner that the holder is in possession of property subject to Wyoming's Unclaimed Property Act (Statutes 34-24-101 through 34-24-140). This pertains to all properties with a value of \$50 or more. If there has been contact with the owner during the remit year, the property should not be reported.

Retention of Records: All holders are required to retain records of unclaimed property for five (5) years after the property becomes reportable, except to the extent that a shorter time period is provided in the law.

#### How to report

The Wyoming Unclaimed Property Division of the State Treasurer's Office now exclusively accepts reports through our online system. Please visit our website at <a href="https://www.mycash.wyo.gov">www.mycash.wyo.gov</a> to submit your report.

#### Please note:

- 1. We no longer accept paper unclaimed property reports; and
- 2. We no longer require verification forms.

## How to make payment

**If you have already submitted your report** but did not make payment at that time, you have two options to make payment:

1. Mail a check (along with a copy of our confirmation page containing FEIN information) to:

Wyoming State Treasurer's Office Unclaimed Property Division 122 W. 25<sup>th</sup> St., Ste. E300 Cheyenne, WY 82002

Note: Checks should be made payable to Wyoming State Treasurer's Office

#### 2. Make an ACH payment:

https://wyoming.findyourunclaimedproperty.com/app/holder/payment/search

You will need to submit your company Tax ID/FEIN number and then select the report you are wanting to make payment for.

For those who need to tie an ACH payment with a company ID, the State Treasurer's ID number is 1204981966.

Note: ACH payments can only be made for each individual report. Those making multiple reports and wanting to make a single payment will need to submit a check along with a copy of each confirmation page.

Email: <u>upreports@wyo.gov</u>

Passwords: uppasswords@wyo.gov

Checks should be made payable to:

Wyoming State Treasurer Unclaimed Property Division

Don't forget to verify that all properties you are reporting have a last-known address in Wyoming. Do you have properties with addresses in other states? Information regarding other states and its abandoned property reporting requirements can be found at www.unclaimed.org.

#### **Need Assistance?**

Please contact the Wyoming Unclaimed Property Division at:

www.mycash.wyo.gov Reporting specialist: 307-777-8778 Main office: 307-777-5590

upreports@wyo.gov